DUI v. DWI
Maryland DUI (driving under the influence). A blood alcohol level of .08 or higher will result in a DUI arrest. Conviction of a DUI can result in the suspension of ones driver's license for 45 days, a fine of up to $1,000, and a sentence of one year in jail for a first offense DUI. A DUI conviction will result in 12 points on the Maryland Driver's License record.
Maryland DWI (driving while impaired). A blood alcohol level of .07 will result in a DWI arrest, which is a lesser offense compared to a Maryland DUI. A DWI can result in ones driver's license suspension of up to 60 days, up to a $500 fine and two months in jail for a first offense. Furthermore, a DWI conviction will result in 8 points on the Maryland Driver's License record.